Mehitabel's Rocking Chair

Just about finished. I have one touch up to do and it's done. The painting is 28 by 22 inches and is oil on canvas. 

As you might guess if you follow my journal, today was open studio. There were a few more painters today and we all had a great time together. The work everybody does is so amazing and so great. Each painter has her own style and they are really different. Caroline is a pure abstract artist. Cathy can turn any simple thing - a paper cup, a towel, a window in the studio - into a reality based abstract or a simple still life study. Helen loves to do exteriors and interiors of buildings, but also can do great still lives of meaningful things in her life. Trying to describe Erin's work is almost impossible. She does these amazing collections of characters, birds, trees, floating space, odd angles, in such an amazing way. Her work is totally hers. And today Lyz came who is doing a series of dancers in the South Pacific. I just love seeing all this creative energy happening around me. 

After the session I went to Silverado to see Arvin. I was feeling a bit apprehensive about how I'd find him. Turned out he was in a great mood and we had a lovely couple of hours together. Where there used to be CNN news is now Pandora playing classical music thanks to my request for a place to be quiet and listen to lovely music. Officially they will play classical from 1:00 to 3:00 but today it was still playing when we went to dinner at 5:00. Arvin was happy to hear some of his favorite pieces. A couple of them were ones he had played on the piano. I remembered one from our visit to my college roommate who was a music major. She was giving a piano lesson and Arvin loved the piece so she gave him a copy and a brief lesson. So hearing that brought that all back to me and I reminded Arvin of that visit. What a difference in his mood and in the feeling that there was a peaceful place to go to relax and drink in the beautiful sounds. I am so glad I asked and they listened.

Dinner was yummy. The menu said grilled turkey and cheese sandwiches which didn't sound good to me. But for some reason they changed and we got pasta with spaghetti sauce instead. It was delicious.

Now I am home relaxing. I fed the kitties and soon will watch some TV. Turned out to be a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.