Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Eight-legged Friend

Larger for arachnophiles.....

At lunchtime I took a walk to my 2 ''Ent' pals, to see what was happening with the 2 fungal bracket clusters which are growing on one of them (as blipped last week). I took some shots, and also took some of the black and cream brackets on the fallen tree, which I mentioned at the time. So I thought I had my blip.

But tonight when going out to feed Tom the Tank I took my camera with me - well you never know, a Swallowtail might suddenly appear and settle on a leaf and I'd hate to miss that (this far West of the County, and at that time of the evening? Hah! I can always dream ....). I checked where the 2 spiders had been the last couple of days. Both spiders and their webs have now vanished - I suspect they'd got totally pissed off fed up with me shoving my lens into their faces and gone elsewhere to get some peace! lol
But I did espy this one of the same type, in a shady corner beside the horse shelter. Unlike the other 2, which had been rather shy and prone to hiding, this one happily stayed put in the middle of its web as I took several shots of it. The shade made my flash kick in, and even that didn't seem to perturb it. What a friendly spider!

More news on the bracket fungi tomorrow ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.