Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Ent 1 - fungi 0?

Larger ....

I said yesterday that there'd be news today on the 'Ent' v bracket fungi situation. So I went there again today for some updated pics of the fungi.
I also took shots of the black and cream brackets on the nearby fallen tree for today's blip. I'd noticed yesterday that since last week they've not only grown but have now faded from black to a patterened rich brown, and the cream has become white. I suspect they're a type of Beefsteak fungus (Fistulina hepatica).

About the Ent: the reassuring news is that the fungi seem to have stopped growing, and are now becoming dryer and more brittle. They're obviously dying off. It has been an odd summer, much rain earlier and humid a lot of the time - ideal conditions for fungi, so hopefully their presence on the tree this year won't be too ominous.
This was the original, large cluster last week and how it looks today.

The secondary, smaller cluster last week - the same cluster now

Whilst I was taking today's shots of them a guy came along - he asked if I knew what 'this place' was, so I explained about the history of the County Hall site and the Memorial chapel remains where we were standing. He's apparently working for NCC on contract and not from around this area, so knows nothing about the locality. We also had a long chat about the Ents and the fungi, and about the various fungi which occur in Bracondale wood and the front of County Hall. His dad, he said, had been a botanist and had created a botanical group where they lived. He had inherited a fascination for the subject from his dad, and was intrigued by Bracondale wood.
Until now he'd only ever been for a walk in the front area - I bet I know where he'll be taking his lunchtime walks from now on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.