WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Fan

To the market this morning for the first time in several weeks. It was heaving, but still a pleasure to be there in the spring sunshine. As usual I found strawberries irresistible (two punnets, we have already scoffed the lot) but also lingered at a citrus stall where I bought untreated lemons and half a kilo of kumquats, whereupon the stallholder gave me a special sweet lemon from a tree in his garden, which I think must be the European equivalent of a Meyer lemon.

In the afternoon we went to laze in the garden. I have just discovered the cult podcast S-Town, so I listened to it on the tablet. It's a documentary as racy as a thriller, set in a place referred to by one of its inhabitants as "Shittown Alabama" (bowdlerised in the title for sensitive Americans). I've listened to two episodes so far; it's brilliantly done and very compelling. It reminds me of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil in the way that radio host Brian Reed gets drawn into the life of an unfamiliar place full of odd characters. I'm hooked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.