WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Summer plenty

It's a while since I blipped the market -- not since June in fact -- so here you go. We hadn't been for a couple of weeks, and we forgot that today was the quarterly foire, when the market is twice as big as usual and goes on for twice as long (all day); we usually avoid it. Getting into Lézignan and parking was a challenge. S went on administrative errands and I strolled through the market, where I succumbed to temptation in the form of a pair of lovely white porcelain gratin dishes for 5 euros. Then we sat outside Claudine's bar with a nice glass of rosé. 80% of the clientèle was English, which was a bit disconcerting, but briefly made us feel as if we were on holiday.

This evening, we remembered we had the scanty remains of a jar of foie gras in the fridge for our apero, along with a bottle of blanquette. I'm a sucker for pleading looks, so Mystère got some too. He was brought up in a chateau (he's slumming it with us), but I bet Sally never gave him foie gras -- she's far too sensible. Once he'd tasted it he nearly had my hand off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.