The second half of life..

By twigs

Let the holiday begin.....

It rained and blew last night and, as Cook Strait can be a pretty rough stretch of water, I really was NOT looking forward to the ferry crossing today.

Got away in good time from Nelson which was fortunate really as my 'casual' trip over to Picton was interrupted twice - once by a flooded road and the second time by a tree having blown over the road. Added to this the ferry was running late! The strange thing was that the crossing was actually pretty good! Sure, it rained a bit through the Sounds but the Strait itself was unbelievably flat given all the wind there had been. The sun came out and I even managed a bit of a nap on the deck in the sun :)

Because the ferry had been late getting in to Wellington I didn't manage to get quite as far north for the first night's stop as I'd hoped. I'm somewhere north of Levin - managed to find a camp ground near the ocean so I will drift off tonight with the sound of the waves as my lullaby........zzzzzz

Overspill pics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.