Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Swept off my feet!

Half and hour on the torture machine cross trainer. Popped across the Links to the Post Office and a wander round the Meadows. Will take the computer over to the shop this afternoon to get them to look at my 'empty' RAM.

I posted off all the email correspondence re my complaint to the Chief Executive of Emirates Airlines in Dubai. The minions have fobbed me off unceremoniously. All I wanted was a refund of the 'no-show' fee on the missed Sydney flight. We believed we would make the flight, the Ground Staff knew we wouldn't but hadn't made this clear to us. When/why/how were we supposed to cancel it and avoid the fine?

£150 is peanuts in their billion £ budget, but worth a lot in good PR, but they don't seem at all concerned about this. £150 could buy 100 Magnums, or 300 NO - 500!! (EDIT: I've just used a calculator - maths was never my strong point!) own brand Magnums, or millions of Maltesers or lots and lots of scones.

It was so blustery today. I remember one really windy day being literally swept off my feet on the Links! The grass was very wet and a huge gust suddenly swooped up behind me, my feet left the ground and I sat down with a bump. I do hope nobody saw me.

I love this building, the Barclay Parish Church. A bit closer in than in this one. I was drawn across to it this morning because of the bonus yellow car. It always seems to me that the architect wanted to include just about every tricky arch, doorway, spire, window, but was then told that he only had half the amount of land to do it in, and just squashed them all in anyway.

And, to my mind, that steeple is on a wee bit of a lean...


Press L on your keyboard to see it large...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.