Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two Beaus (Beaux?)

Popped across to the PO (via Lothian Transport) to post a couple of parcels, and saw that the Meadows, at 10.30, were awash with kids playing football. All colours (of football strips, not kids) and sizes and lots of games and training sessions going on. I nearly jumped off the bus there and then, but decided to get some shots on the way back from the PO. But, yes, you guessed it, they were all gone by then. Every last one of them.

I did have a chat to a man with a wee dog. I asked if I could take some action shots of his dog as he (the dog) retrieved his (the dog's) ball. Turns out he, Sean, was a homeless person, from Ireland. In fact, he had no ID, being a Traveller. So he can’t get any benefits.

His dog’s name was Beau. I wasn’t sure what he was saying so I asked,

As in B-E-A-U?’

No, as in B-O.

I got the whole life story before I could go on my way. A tough life really, but he loves his wee dog, and it’s great company for him.

Further on I passed a dad playing tug-o-war with three kids. Of course, he let go and they ended up in a pile, but I liked this tuggy shot when it was all going smoothly, and Dad was winning.

We went into town for lunch - oh, and to check out TVs. Might as well have a new TV as well as a new lounge. Very tempting, of course, and this time, it was JR who was ready to buy one there and then from a nice young chap. I thought we should wait. Weird, I know!

On the way to lunch there was a beautiful VW Combi van (a Splitty!) bedecked in ribbons outside the church. A Bride must be nearby! I asked and was told she’d be about an hour. Too long to wait.

Lunch was excellent. A sharing platter of tasty chicken, prawns, ‘hand cut’ chips (as opposed to feet cut) and crispy bean curd, with a salad and sweet chilli and satay sauces. Very good. Muzak not too annoying.

As we came back, who should just be coming out, but the bride and groom! I gatecrashed a few photos beside the official photographer, but stopped myself in time when he got into the front seat for photos of the happy couple in the back seat.

The bride does look happy with her kilted beau. But I think I'd rather have the combi...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.