Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Fast work.

A re-visit to the television department of JL was necessary today - rather sooner than we had anticipated. Because we don't own a TV now!

We decided we had to sell the old one before we bought a new one, and as there were 75 TVs for sale already on Gumtree, I thought it might take a wee while. Popped it on Gumtree last night and almost immediately had a young woman ringing up.

‘Could I come and get it now?’

Four young ladies trooped round from their flat and carted the TV and TV table away with them. Being in Marchmont when students are setting up their flats is a definite advantage! By the time JR came back from the supermarket we were TV-less! Listened to the radio last night. Actually, to the National Radio in NZ on the super (free) iPad app ‘Tune In Radio’.

So, down to the pleasantly mind-blowing confusing array of TVs this morning. Another helpful chap. Got carried away a teensy bit, funnily enough, and went for the bigger one. And a sound system. Jings! Won’t come till Friday, but we can watch our iPads this week. Or not bother.

I wanted to nip up Carlton Hill for a photo. No. Road is closed on a Sunday. I wanted to drive round the park. No. Road closed on a Sunday. I don’t see why this should be. Sunday is a day for families taking granny out for a drive. Walkers and cyclists still have plenty of room, as every other day. In my opinion, it's a pointless exercise. (I mean closing the roads, not walking or cycling. They are, of course, not pointless. Except in the rain).

And so I contented myself with a toddle down the road between showers to poke in people’s gardens. I have had a pleasant afternoon relaxing on the sofa, sun streaming in for long periods, dozing and listening to music. Nothing screechy, of course. And a good sound system. One of life’s pleasures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.