Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Breakfast treat. Not.

A long weekend for schools (Wit? They’ve only just started!) and so JR and I popped round to a local trendy cafe for brekkie and to meet up with a neighbour.

I had fried bananas on sourdough bread. It was quite nice, but three great big chunks of fried banana were black. They should not have been used. When I had finished everything but the three black bits which should not have been used, I waited for someone to come and collect the plates. No. The waiters sailed by each time, with nary a glance in our direction. I eventually took the plates up to the counter to order a coffee and said,

I didn’t eat the black bits.’
Subtext: 'Why did you serve fried banana that was clearly past its best?’

Instead of saying, 'Oh I’m so sorry madam, our mistake, we won’t charge you for the meal, ’ or some such concession...

The young chap actually said, ‘No Worries!’
Subtext: 'This old biddy is apologising for not eating all of her fried banana. She doesn't really need to...'

Nae idea some of these young lads they get in to serve. I won’t be having brekkie there again…

We continued with the clear out. Clothes, shoes, old Christmas decorations, books, junk bric-a-brac, off to the charity shop - though we are spreading our stuff around several charities. Then we drove round the park. Because you can every day except Sundays. I was delighted when the cygnets came close as I threw grass for them. I was pleased to see a big sign saying not to feed them white bread.

The whole family came close, although only the kids came in for grass, feeding from my hand. They made a constant cute little tweeting chirping noise. I was going to choose one with the whole family in, but I liked the water drops on this one, who was the cheekiest bravest. I couldn’t get away from the big rocks are the edge even though I was leaning out over the water rather precariously...

Popped in to see Uncle A and give him some raspberries - 3 for 2 at Waitrose and they’re delicious. He’s in fine fettle, having just been shopping in JL. We didn’t go today…

Another evening of TV on the iPad while sorting photos. Who needs a big TV?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.