Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Man in uniform No3

Archie and I had a wander down town today. I must admit - choosing to do his business in the middle of a busy pavement was quite embarrassing. For me - he cared not a jot. Just as well it wasn't one of his skittery ones...

He caused quite a stir when we stopped to cross the road. An Aussie family made a big fuss of him because they were missing their dog back home. They asked where they could get a decent coffee. I umm-ed and aah-ed (there are several places, of course, but nothing handy) and the father and I arrived at the same conclusion at the same time - just drink tea or whisky.

We had a chat about Oz and indeed the chap's lovely new white Nikon camera, and when I looked down, an elderly lady had her head right down at Archie, and he was licking her hair.

There are always young chaps (porters) outside this hotel, which has changed hands and changed tartans. This is Fernando, and he's from Spain. 'Southern Spain', he added with a shiver. He was happy to pose with Archie, as I think they must get a bit bored just standing there waiting to carry in suitcases.

I got a little frisky. No - I got a medium Frisky. Yum yum.

Had a chat to my ex-neighbour at the Vote Yes stand. He'll be glad when it's all over - his feet are killing him.

We walked across the Meadows. Well, I sauntered, Archie charged here and there. We did meet a huge poodle, Leo, who wanted to play, but had a Very Loud bark, and a nifty left hook, so Archie was happy to leave with me.

Got home to discover I didn't have my keys. I had a spate of locking myself out a while ago and put keys with several neighbours. But just as well I have a secret hiding place now.

Off to read the 'Wee Blue Book' ('the facts the papers leave out'). Might help me decide...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.