Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie not sick in the car!

... er, because we didn't go anywhere...

I have been reading up about car sickness in dogs, and as he’s showing no signs of outgrowing it yet, I decided to try the ‘sitting in the car with treats' (for Archie, not me) and not going anywhere. I think he’s anxious in the car because every single time - except when he was a wee puppy - he’s been sick. He’s never been sick on a bus and hops on them with gay abandon. We sat in the back seat for ages, hoping passers by didn't spot us. We had the new toy. Archie ignored it. He ate his treats, looked unhappy, and then we got out again. Maybe next time I’ll put the engine on.

The search for a biddable person in uniform to stand on Archie’s lead has been abandoned in favour of slonking at home all morning (watching am TV) and then a few household tasks in the afternoon. In fact, today we have a monkey sitting on his lead!

JR took him for a walk this afternoon, and I took advantage of his absence to sweep the back yard. He goes crazy when he hears the brush and likes to attack it like it’s a wild animal trying to invade his space. The flats above seem to be all getting new windows, so bits of wood, paint, screws and nails fall all over our (Archie’s) bit. Every time I sweep up, another flat above does them. There was a vague, ‘Oh, I’ll come and tidy that up’ promise by one of the residents concerned, but nobody ever appeared with a broom. The others haven’t even bothered making vague promises. How times have changed.

An exciting week for Scotland. I just hope, whichever side wins, the other side is magnanimous in defeat and everyone works together to make improvements. I must say, I’ve been gripped by the debates - fantastic to see everyone so engaged, even the young folk, though I do deplore the bully boys who shout down people they don’t agree with. Let everyone have their say. That’s what I say.

Off to paint the bench while wee Archie is still frolicking in the Meadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.