Fuchsia at sunset

I was getting ready to put potatoes in the oven to bake when Helena called up to to me that she was going to the cemetery. I immediately knew she going to take a photo and I realised I wanted to go to. I quickly washed the spuds and put them in the hot oven, grabbed my bag ignored Bomble's regular inquiries about his supper and left.

It is only about thirty yards to a gate into the cemetery, via a very short footpath close to the house. I was surprised that there was still sunlight in the west as the sun was setting behind a series of cloud layers. In the cemetery I looked for any odd places where there was sufficient light and a subject. Helena and I were both drawn to this fuchsia at the same time, but my eye was already being drawn to the light in the sky. I took a coupe of pictures of the fuchsia and then spent more time trying to get a panoramic view of the sunset.

In the end I prefer this picture as it has more life in it, and more colour. This type of fuchsia reminds me of damp hedgerows in the west of Ireland lined with huge old bushes of them dripping with dew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.