Irish Buddies

Please meet Chuck and Whispa - 'room-mates' at our local dog rescue centre. I paid them a visit today. Now before you get all excited - no, I am not looking to adopt another dog. I went to the Diana Brimblecombe Animal Rescue Centre to donate 3 large bags of Dolly's food, medicine, treats, a few toys and other accessories. They were thrilled at the donation. Dolly was on a special diet for her kidneys and they have a 'long-term resident' on the same diet so the food was especially welcome and that will go all to her.

I had never been to the centre before so I was given a tour. The whole place was impressive - really good facilities and a well thought out adoption programme, not just for dogs but also cats, rabbits and even some birds. Some of the dogs come from the local area but a great many come from Ireland where there is a huge dog overpopulation problem and way too many are euthenised. Charities like this one provide one solution and many Irish dogs are brought into England to be given a chance of a real home.

These two dogs had been brought from Ireland and were sharing a 'kennel'. Almost all the dogs I saw had already been 'adopted' and were just waiting for the process to be completed or for recovery from a medical procedure. Whispa on the right was actually out for a walk with her prospective new mum and dad. They all looked very happy.

I know it's not the right time for me to have another dog. But it was lovely to see so many beautiful dogs being taken care of so well and who would soon have new forever homes. Although I'm keeping some of Dolly's belongings - I hope one day I'll have a dog again - I'm so pleased that I could bless this charity with things they were really pleased about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.