I Left My Heart...In San Francisco

It was back to work again today. Thankfully I was up early and enjoyed a very quick walk around the park (See Extra photo). It was a foggy morning (which I love) and the sunrise was beautiful too. I rushed home for a shower and was out the door by 830.

Today's trip was to San Francisco. I love taking pictures of the city before landing but I was too busy today. I did get a bit of a hazy shot of the airport - we had an unusual approach today, so I'm not used to seeing this view of the airport.

We landed early and after getting settled at the hotel downtown, a friend came to pick me up at about 5pm. We drove around, trying to decide where to eat and struggling to find a parking place - always a challenge in this city. We made a brief stop at a place near the Presidio where there's a great view looking north over the bay. There are many 'stairway walks' around the city and we were right by the Lyon Street steps along the eastern side of the Presidio. The heart in the pictures is part of an annual public art installation, raising money for the San Francisco General Hospital Foundation.

After a brief stop here, and after walking the steps down and back up, we headed further west and ended up at one of my favourite places in the city - Lands End and the Sutro Baths ruins which I've blipped several times before. I don't usually get to see the sunset here - last time I was here I tried, but the fog rolled in just before sunset (which had a beauty of its own). The view was beautiful this evening, especially with the tide out this time. A few others were also there, enjoying the sunset.

Unfortunately the place where we'd hoped to eat was closed so we were back to looking for a place where we could also park. We had a rather late Thai meal, not that far from the hotel!  By the time my friend dropped me off at the hotel I had been up about 24 hours and I quickly collapsed into bed. But it was so worth it after a wonderful evening of beauty and fresh air!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.