Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Feelin' Groovy

I love it when the nuthatches spontaneously puff up - and this was so much better with the yellow leaves in the woods behind us providing a lovely background. Makes you feel groovy, doesn't it?

The day started with me having to extricate Scar the Hillside Chipmunk from our squirrel proof cage on a platform feeder. The cage has 1 inch square openings which is fine to let little birds get their heads in, but way too big for squirrels. Unfortunately, little Scar managed to squeeze himself in and then couldn't get back out. I had a HELL of a time getting him out! And he was none too happy - lots of thrashing and squeaking. I am sure he thought he was about to be eaten, or at least eviscerated. It must have looked like some insane comedy routine. Didn't stop the little guy from coming back later in the day and eating all the seeds that I'd scattered in planter for the birds!

While I was sitting on the deck late this afternoon snapping shots of the birds, Mimsy arrived and jumped up on the chair next to me. It was a bit startling since I didn't know she was there - and apparently it startled her too because she catapulted herself off the chair. She did, however, run right back over for peanuts. I am going to have the fatest, best fed chipmunks on the planet. Well, except for maybe BeRelaxed's chipmunks!

I got a few other nice bird shots this afternoon in the lovely late day light, if you'd care to have a look:

Purple Finch

Puffy Titmouse

Titmouse in profile

Thanks for the comments and stars in my iphonery blip yesterday. I continue to be very impressed with that iphone camera - has really eliminated the need for a point and shoot, at least for me.

Hey, has anyone had any experience or heard anything about the new Nikon D600? I'm thinking that next year may be time for me to look at an FX format camera...and the reviews on it are pretty enticing...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.