Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ovipositor's Up, Ladies!

It's October 1 and the flowers in my garden are still blooming, the katydids are doing what katydid's do, and even a few pollinators are buzzing around. The only minor downside is that my allergies are pounding me. If I had an ovipositor, it would be dragging on the ground...

Seriously, when do you even get to use the word "ovipositor" once, let alone 4 times in under a minute??? And if you didn't know, the ovipositor (fifth time, but who's counting) is the curled-up thing on the bottom of her backside, which she uses for laying her eggs. Only the female katydid has this appendage, making it easy to "sex" the 'dids.

If you'd like to see two bees (bumble and honey) and yet another soap bubble, check out Flickr, starting HERE..

Tamron is working on my lens today and I'm hoping that they'll be putting it back in the mail by Friday. And for less than I was expecting, which is a nice surprise!

Back later. Happy Tuesday!

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.