Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Hard Day's Night

I love teaching about space at school. I come fully out of the nerd closet when it comes around (although there are staff who believe I never actually get in it!!)

Today was looking at the changes from Ptolemy's geocentric model to the correct heliocentric view proposed by Copernicus (pronounced Copper Knickers for full comedy effect!) and popularised by Galileo. If only they's listened to poor old Aristarchus it would have saved a lot of bother ;(

We then moved onto the cause of day and night, something that really challenges some views of the children. As it is the first of many lessons playing with torches, inflatable Earths and Blu-Tac, it marks the start of some top, engaging science.

Thanks to all the feedback on the Knocking on Heaven's Door debate. Most of you are wrong I see, I will not be sharing your comments with Mrs H as she agrees with you and was the one in the 3:1 split..... ha ha :-D


I'm off for a game of "Who can run across the front room with a balloon between the knees without dropping it" with the Jnrs......LATER PEEPS

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.