The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Ladies in green: Route 28 part II

Part of an occasional series of bus blips. See below.

My sister, TMLHereandThere, who is staying here now, has noticed that older women in this country hardly ever wear hats. Apparently they used to, when she last lived in this country, but she emigrated in 1985. Since then, hat wearing has declined sharply.

I went to work as usual then caught the bus to Stonehouse, the nearby town, to start my course in 1930s literature and film. What a surprise! The library was packed, admittedly with women of a certain age and a few elderly gentlemen, but it turned out that the course leader is an absolute whizz with a loyal following. The first session was interesting and thought provoking, but I was anxious to get home to see my sister and niece, and sample the Portuguese custard tarts I'd heard they were bringing! So I dashed out into the very rainy Stonehouse, caught the bus back to Stroud, and waited for the next bus with a queue of people who included a woman in a green coat and a walking frame; a woman in a green coat and hat; two women with Union flag backpacks, and a boy in shorts! It is a rubbish shot, because I took it at the last minute, just before the queue began to mobilise.

However, I have been wanting to blip more people but always been a bit scared, so this is a start. And the rain has been torrential, and my sister and I are not keen on portraits, so this is today's blip. We had an eccentric supper of corn cobs, cauliflower cheese, and fish fingers, and are now sitting in front of our Apple devices sorting out blip material! I think CleanSteve, my partner, has blipped my niece Immy today. She has gone to bed; Bomble is asleep in the chair; and once again all is well in this particular corner of the universe.

Route 28 on Minchinhampton Common:
Route 93:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.