In Helsinki

I don't know what this sign means, but I liked this.

I woke up early this morning to finish some bits and bobs, and get ready to go. The flight went well, but it was long. My favourite bit was the view from the plane as we were landing in Stockholm (amazing!) and the beautiful sunset as we were taking off to Helsinki. Unfortunately, photography is not allowed during landing or take off.

When I arrived in Helsinki, the information office was closed. It was 6.30pm, two hours ahead from GMT time, and it was pitch dark. As I was fearing getting lost trying to get the right bus to the hostel, I decided to take a taxi instead, which cost me a fortune, but I got to the hostel safe and sound.

Once in the hostel, I had a bit of a scare because I thought I had lost my passport, but I had just misplaced it! After checking in, I went to the supermarket to get some food. All in Finnish. I had to figure out what was what. Then I went for a wee wander. The first thing I noticed is the smell. Helsinki smells of smoke! A beautiful smell of smoke.

I didn't take out the big camera today. Too much hassle. I'll take it out tomorrow!

Tomorrow I'm meeting Ari. He'll be my guide, which will help a lot! That's very nice of him.

Going to bed now, because I'm very tired and I want to get up early tomorrow to make most of the day.

Thanks very much for all your nice comments! I hope you all had a good day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.