PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

Long Bien Bridge

Had a lovely day in Ha Noi today.

It started off with a visit to a Vietnamese Vet Clinic, probably the most well equipped vet clinic in Ha Noi/Northern Vietnam, but despite this I was rather shocked to discover that no clinics in Northern Vietnam have gas anaesthesia (except for us). The clinic was flat strap, dogs of all shapes and sizes everywhere you look. Busy and slightly frazzled vets and cool as cucumber (seemingly) vet nurses tended to dogs with drips whilst the waiting room was filling up. The head vet and owner of the practice Linh is Vietnamese trained but has also completed a pHd in Japan and is very progressive with her studies. There is no vet nurse training course in Vietnam so she also has Vets working as Vet Nurses. They have a long way to go in terms of the standard of vet care we are used to in western countries but its a practice with promise and Linh is very keen for myself and our vet K. to come and give training presentations and workshops. I also somehow managed to offer my services to a client who is trying to start an organisation to help treat and rehome stray cats in Ha Noi. Hmm, I'm more of a dog person myself, but I'm definitely will to help with these positive steps forward :).

Then it was off to Long Bien Bridge. This bridge is a photographer's delight and today was no exception with the weather producing nothing less than patches of pale blue sky! (Something of a rarity in Ha Noi). To me these photos could all stand alone and possibly would have more of a visual impact on the viewer. But its late and I just can't make a decision tonight.

Large is Best

Arrived back in Tam Dao late this eveing and headed straight over to Max and Mickey. Great news first! Max is bright, alert and active - getting into all sorts of puppy mischief! It was wonderful to see him chasing insects around the room and chewing on an empty needle cap (which was promptly confiscated I might add!). No foreign bodies please! .... Unfortunately Mickey seems to have taken a turn for the worse. She is extremely flat and developing symptons that Max never did. I've been back to check on her again, worried as to what I might find but no change. This little girl will need a miracle to pull her through...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.