Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

My old tomato plant home

This is a backblip from yesterday so that brings me right up to date now! We were at our friends in East Linton yesterday afternoon and I took our dog out to their garden for a necessary visit and spotted the world's weediest tomato plants in their greenhouse. We issued them with a warning notice for cruelty to tomatoes in Spring when we found two spindly, etiolated tomato seedlings in dry pots in their kitchen. The seedlings were duly reported and transferred to the greenhouse to be quietly ignored. But yesterday I rediscovered them, still alive and, at least, having the merit of providing habitat for some baby spiders and attachment points for their webs. This was the most accessible spider from a photographic perspective and I've cropped the photo to create a picture with two points of interest, the hairy tomato stem and the spider. I think the spider may be a recently hatched Metellina but I'm not sure. And so, I discover that my friends weren't gardening after all - they were in the spider habitat creation business!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.