Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Saltires in Santa Monica

A very special Blipmeet. I've been on a journey with Catherine Lacey & My Boys since her first entry in December 2009. In fact, I left the first comment. Many prayers have been said, and anxious moments shared as I've followed Reuben's progress. A joy to watch Callum grow, and start to play and interact with his brother.

I contacted Catherine as soon as I knew I would be visiting Los Angeles. My schedule was very tight, as was hers. We arranged to meet on Santa Monica Pier and nearly missed each other. I had almost given up when I spotted Reuben, and we had about half an hour together. I brought the Saltire flags and "Jimmy" hats all the way from Scotland, to create an entry for "See us".

It was wonderful to meet this family, and see how well Reuben is progressing after his recent surgery.

It had been quite a day, meeting a Star on the Walk of Fame in Hollywood, cycling along the board walk at Santa Monica and dipping my toes in the warm Pacific Ocean. Later, as the sun dropped into the sea, a pianist at the end of the Pier was singing "It's Amazing". It certainly was.

Here is a link to Catherine's entry for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.