rower2012

By rower2012

Windy Point Revisited

On the 3rd and 7th of November I blipped scenes from our well known tourist area at the Windy Point lookout. Firstly I blipped the sunset from near this spot, and then a view of the architecture of the side of the Windy Point Restaurant. I did mention at the time I hoped to get inside soon!

Paladian and I have not eaten at this popular establishment for 2 years, so tonight was the night for our return - and to celebrate Paladian's birthday. With great anticipation I packed several different lenses, having recently booked a central window table for this big night. My aim was to capture the Adelaide city skyline at dusk, and maybe even get the city lights if all turned out well.

Seated at our table, my first thought was how much the trees had grown, now they are much higher than when we last ate here. Not good for the best view of the city, so I may have to move around a bit between tables.

Finally found that the best view was from the other side of our table, and managed to grab this shot a little before sunset, hand held. The later shots of the city lights simply were not good enough for hand held, so this is the best I achieved. Seen better in LARGE.

By sheer chance I caught a plane coming in to land, seen on the other side of the city. I took a similar city skyline photo while I was coming in to land on October 3rd. The 2 views make an interesting comparison.

We had a great meal, a wonderful night, and nobody made any comment at our bags of lenses which we shuffled around taking these photos from our table. The staff are probably quite used to all this carry-on it at this cafe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.