Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Happy Anniversary!

Hubs and I are celebrating our 18th anniversary today, which we've chosen to do in a very low-key way.  We always write something for each other to start the day; he writes in our "anniversary journal" and I write in a card.  This morning, we sat quietly and read what the other had written.  I'm so lucky to have married this man.  And, just for fun, I'm sticking a shot of one of our wedding pics in Extra.  Gosh, we were so much younger then, even though I was 44!

Then, a nice chat with my parents followed by some photography for me and a bike ride for him, some quiet time together in the afternoon, and capping it off with dinner tonight at a local gastro-pub that has terrific food.

While I was outside tending to the monarch cats, I caught a flash of movement in the cherry tree which sent me scampering inside for the D850.  Of course, when I went out, things appeared silent in the tree.  But perseverance paid off because finally this gorgeous juvenile Canada Warbler showed itself just long enough for me to get some decent shots.  I believe this is the first time I've seen this species in our yard, which definitely makes it blip-worthy.  It's a long-range migrant, breeding far north into Canada and wintering in S. America.  And it's Yardbird # 42 to be blipped this year.

I also released 4 monarchs today, all at the request of fellow-blippers; 3 males and one female.  At least 40-50 more to go and only 5 names remaining on my dedication list, so don't hesitate to message me if you have someone you'd like to remember with a monarch release.  To date, I have raised and released 121 monarchs, with 90% of them coming from eggs collected in my garden.  I brought in what I hope will be the last 2 eggs this morning...

Happy Anniversary to the heart of my life, my Hubs.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.