Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Punctuation

I have a hard time distinguishing between Eastern Comma and Question Mark butterflies until they fold their wings.  So, lucky for me, this one's wings were folded tight when I first spotted it sucking up nectar at the Montauk Diner.  I was able to get several shots, clearly showing the "comma" mark on the underwing and would have been quite happy blipping this image... but then it opened it's wings and I was smitten.  This is definitely a butterfly that shows much better with wings spread wide.  Also in the garden today were two big female monarchs - I had a conversation with them to remind them that they need to get moving.  

Very good to have Hubs home again.  We spent much of the day outside on fall chores - him power-washing the house while I cleaned windows, decanted more pots and moved things into the shed for winter.  I'm trying something new with my tropical milkweed this year in an attempt to overwinter several plants to get a jump on next year's growing season.  We'll see if it works - nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Planning a quiet evening and probably an early bedtime as Hubs is still getting sorted back to eastern time from the west coast.  Picked up some fresh veggies from the local farm and will put together a pasta dish with veggies and goat cheese.  

Eleven days...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.