Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Photo bomber

Don't you just hate it when you're sitting there, looking all fine and red, posing for the paparazzi ... and one of those darned nuthatches comes careening past your head?  Yea, me too.  

I wouldn't usually ever post an out-of-focus bird, but this shot made me laugh when I saw it (since I didn't see the nuthatch coming either), and it had to be my blip.  The Northern Cardinals have all just about finished molting and are in fine feather.  This handsome male had a few pin-feathers showing around his bill, but is otherwise perfect.  In fact, I opted not to do anything other than a very slight crop on this image.  

It is cold and very windy today so being outside for even 20 minutes required a winter coat and gloves.  The only things flying were birds - nary a butterfly or bee to be seen.  Bird feeders were doing a brisk business with all the usual suspects.  I'm keeping my eye out for an Evening Grosbeak as several people in the County have reported seeing one.  They, like the Purple Finches, are having an irruptive year as they travel further south in search of food.  Fingers crossed.

Stoked up the fireplace this morning so the downstairs is all toasty warm.  

Nice long chat with my parents who have arrived in Yuma, AZ, after meandering south from Oregon for the past month.  And while we are all bundled up, they are out in shorts and tees with temps in the 90's.  Well, in 10 short days...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.