Fairy Lights

We had an early start this morning as I was heading into London for a day with the Lorraine, Rachel and Vicky who were all friends when we lived in Belgium, and Jen came too.  I see them all quite regularly apart from Vicky who I haven’t seen since we left Belgium 5 years ago, so it was really nice to get together again.

Unfortunately the trains weren’t running from Brighton due to work on the line, so instead of having to get the rail replacement bus, Alan said he’d drive me to Three Bridges station which is about 45 minutes away.  My train was at 9am, hence the early start!

We all met up at the champagne bar, and although it was early, we had a glass of champers before heading off on foot to Leicester Square.  We had a look at the Christmas market which was only small, but nice, and then headed to Covent Garden.   The Christmas decorations are fantastic!

For lunch we went to a Belgian bar which was quite fitting for our Belgian reunion, and by the time we came out of there it was starting to go dark so we walked to Regent Street and Oxford Road to see the Christmas lights which are pretty amazing.  While on Oxford Street I nipped into Selfridges to pick up my Christmas present from Alan :-)

We then walked back to St Pancras and stopped off for a drink in a Wigwam pop up bar.  It was really cosy with a little fire in the centre, and not very busy so much nicer than a packed bar.

Due to the weather forecast which was for rain, I took my bridge camera rather than my Lumix, but it actually stayed dry all day, so I’m disappointed that I didn’t take it.  I’m always disappointed with the quality of the photos from the canon now, and the other problem is that none of the others are photographers so I was conscious of holding them up, and only took quick shots, so whilst I love this shot of the Christmas lights, it’s not particularly sharp.

It’s been a great day, we’ve walked 10 miles and over 20,000 steps, so I'm tired and  ready for bed so I’ll say goodnight x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.