Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome Back

This male red-winged blackbird has been a spring/summer regular for several years - today marking the third spring he has shown up in our yard.  The first time I saw him, I assumed he'd been in a scuffle with another bird and was missing some feathers.  But by the end of summer, he still had this white patch on his right flank, so I concluded that he is leucistic (lacking in pigment in some areas).  I often wonder if some of the same birds come back each year.  In this case, I know that at least this one bird does, indeed, return to this exact yard right on schedule.  

So yardbird # 20 is my old friend.  Funnily, he is much less skittish than the other blackbirds who visit.  I believe he recognizes me, strange as that may seem.

Two other photos on Flickr, starting HERE if you'd like to have a look.  A starling with much to say and a lovely goldfinch.

MIL is here for Sunday dinner.  I've made a veggie quiche and SIL has made cream of mushroom soup, so I'm sure we'll have a lovely meal.  

Day five at the gym for the week this morning.  New week starts tomorrow...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.