Tunemonger

Headed along to Red Dog to look for a replacement little nut twirly cog type of thing for Ewan's little guitar. He fancies lessons and I'm not one to stand in the way of a little boy's ideas of rock stardom. But the little cog twirly nut thing has been stripped of its thread so that string won't tune.

Some of my own juvenile mid-life crises lie in that shop too so it was nice to have a wee wander and gasp at how cheap everything seems in absolute and certainly in relative terms. I mean, in 1979 or 1980 I paid, with my mum signing as guarantor (fool), £550 to McCormacks in Glasgow for a Sequential Circuits Pro One. That would be £2,800 at today's prices. The much more advanced MicroKorg costs just £289. Blimey. Didn't buy anything though. Software's much cheaper.

Avalanche limps on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.