Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

49

Today is a special day.
The world didn't end, as some say those Mayans predicted (they just ran out of stone on their calendar)
The sun shone in Seattle, altho it is cold.
It's the winter solstice, the shortest day (or longest night) of the year.
And it's our 49th anniversary!
My one true love and I are spending the day together. Where has this time gone. (we were children, of course, with no clue what was in store....) :-)
Too cold for a row (I see we did that last year on the 21st) we had a walk, I managed with some difficulty to install his new printer, baked bread, did a few last minute
errands, and now we are off to an early movie and a bite to eat. Perfect!

Getting this imperfect photo was harder than I thought --I tried all sorts of things - wanted the date and the star sapphire to show. Guess I need a lightbox?? (suggestions always welcome.....) The gold band used to be florentined way back then. And twenty some years later we had H's gold band made into the nautical knot, and added the ring with my birthstone. (which is too small for my finger now --but I'm going to fix that.)

Anyway, here it is. Thank you, H, for a fabulous journey so far. I love you lots!

Edit: Saw the documentary "Chasing Ice" with phenomenal photography by James Balog (and no question that our planet is in trouble) and then for old times sake, next door to the Harvard Exit theater, a fish sandwich at the Deluxe Tavern, a place that was there when we moved to Seattle, not far from it, in 1969! (In "69 it would have been a hamburger!) A fine day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.