a town called E.

By Eej

Something foul is afoot ...


After groceries the Beloved asked if I wanted to stop somewhere for a quick wander and photos - so I chose Wolf Lake.
It was so quiet there - with just some crows being noisy on the other side of the lake. The clouds weren't really cooperating at this point (midday) but there was still snow on the path towards the Fireplace in the Woods, so I went over there for some scenicness.
I walked a few yards, and then squatted down to get a good angle of the path, leading towards the fireplace; it's such an odd sight and, especially with the snow, my Narnia senses always go crazy.
I wasn't particularly happy with how my shot came out, so I started to walk down a bit further, to see if it looked better from there.

And then I saw something.
On the path.

It took me a few minutes ("what is that?", "what the hell IS that?", "It must be an animal, as there is fur", "Oh my gawd, it is SO dead", and so on) to determine that what I was looking at must be a coyote.
A very, VERY dead coyote.


My Narnia feeling turned into a Middle Earth one; "A dark power has found it's way back into the world."


Needless to say I turned on my heels and ran as fast as I could over the icy patches, back to the car. Then I wondered if IT would be visible in my photos, and if it was, how in the world could I have missed it? So I looked and sure enough :/
I was intensely grateful I saw it when I did, before I got closer.


I thought long and hard about posting this because I don't want to offend anyone, but at the same time; it did put a major mark on my day and for me that's what Blip is. Also, I am probably the most sensitive person I know, and I can barely get through Blips that show dead animals - either on people's plates or in other animals mouths - and I'm okay with this. In mono, and far enough away that if you don't go look for it you won't really see it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.