Gable Erratic

By MsGable

THE WOOL WEEK LADIES HAVE LEFT

It really is like a ghost town and island now. I miss seeing all those fantastic, amazing, incredible garments stitched by such skillful knitters and worn with such aplomb. All those 2019 Shetland Wool Week hats! I haven't even worn mine yet as it is too big, preferring my smaller Curlew hat in this wind! But, readers (if there are any) today, today I was let loose and instead of the mittens I thought I would knit with my recently acquired Uradale yarn (thank you Lady F and Poppy for the heads up on that discreetly hidden wonder) I entered Jamiesons and Smith and purchased the additional yarn to make the Burrafirth Shawl (page 47 Poppy) Oh my I am in heaven and in such a heavenly place!

And even more! Late yesterday there was a Mega Rare bird on Fetlar and everyone was scrambling for ferry timetables. But hey, not us. The forecast for today was pretty awful, well, really awful actually, and heh heh, we'd already seen a Rufous-tailed Robin in Norfolk in 2011.

So, wool purchased I set to with my new pattern. The house is beautifully cosily warm, far more so than back home which is temperate-controlled by Himself. The view, when the sea spray let up, was raw and magnificent, how do those birds stay aloft, and the Gannets plunging. It was all just perfect. 

I could live here. Right here. So long as on my own I had enough money for wool!

Lady Findhorn, I have put a really dreadful photo of this evening's ferry as an extra, going by on the way to Aberdeen. The big white wave at the front is going over the top and this is still in the lee of the island.  
Your trip home may have been slightly smoother in comparison. I wouldn't want to be on this one........ Though who knows what our boat home will be like ...... yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.