Gable Erratic

By MsGable

IF YOU'VE GOT AN ITCH ....

I'm not putting my hand on that stile! Not that I could get over it anyway.

This morning we headed south to Sumburgh Lighthouse in the hope of seeing Kevin from our local Leighton Moss Reserve. In the last couple of months he and family have upped and moved to live and work on Shetland, and they are all loving it.

We then saw the Greater Long-toed Lark at Quendale, though I could not see its toes. The same place where we bumped into Jon Dunn last week who wrote Orchid Summer, and who kindly scribbled his autograph on a blank postcard I had lurking in the car. 

Okay, so someone isn't getting a postcard this year........

Next we drove further North and spotted the Red-breasted Flycatcher at Valayre. A lovely little bird, and the first time we had visited this spot as it is spelt Valyayre, Valyiyre, Vaylie and Valerie in various reports, and I've never been able to find it on the map. Today the report just said north of Voxter and when we got there saw a sign calling the burn Valayre. So simple when you know!

In the evening we went to The String in Lerwick for dinner and it was very good as always, though the gluten-free choices missed out all the ones I would have preferred to choose. I can see this Coeliac's is going to be a right pain if dining out. Only mentally though, as I can feel the improvement and I'm not going to cheat on myself.

Extra is the sun coming up outside the (salt-spattered window).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.