The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hidden Stroud Part XIII: This Saloon

One of the benefits of blipping is that it has brought me into greater contact with my own community, as well as the online worldwide community. After blipping the Stroud Workhouse recently, I ordered a copy of a book by a local author. R&R books agreed to get it in for me, and when I went to collect it, I mentioned the vintage shop sign that's recently been uncovered in the town centre (I mentioned it yesterday, but haven't blipped it yet). Ruth, one of the Rs, told me that there was another old sign visible outside Strangeness and Charm, a vintage shop in Gloucester street, below the High street. I vowed to check it out, as I pass the shop every day, but had never noticed the sign!

So, here is a part of it framed in glass, and a SP to boot. The top part of the sign, which wouldn't fit in the frame, says "Cleanliness a Speciality". I know nothing about the former premises, as yet.

Please excuse my being behind with replying to comments, let alone making them. Today's wonderful sunshine has now given way to freezing fog. So it is with my energy levels. The gear change required to go back to school work while also picking up the threads of my self employment; tidying my desk and dealing with all the correspondence that has been piling up for the past few weeks; thinking about the days left till my tax return has to be submitted; and trying to get my social life mapped out, has worn me out. I need to find the aromatherapists' version of the Elixir of Youth! I have some fab stuff to put on my skin, but it's time to get intravenous.

More links to the Hidden Stroud blip series in my Biography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.