WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Messing about

After experiments in the camera yesterday, experiments with software today. I took a number of not-very-inspiring photos on my blipstroll. Usually, I do minor tinkering in iPhoto, and very occasionally bring in the big guns in the form of Photoshop. I'm not very skilled with it but I can at least do cloning and level adjustments -- I just don't have the patience to do really detailed work. Hmm -- I realise that sounds strange now, as I spend my days doing programming, which definitely requires patience and an eye for detail! I suppose I need a break when I'm not working.

Today I bought myself a belated 365 present: Snapseed for Mac. I enjoyed playing with it, randomly clicking around piling different effects one on top of the other. It doesn't require any of the precision and care that Photoshop does, and you have much more control than you do with iPhoto. It makes editing into a game.

So this is the result. It still isn't a fantastic photo, but I like it much better than the original, and what I was able to do in iPhoto. The top right corner was completely blown out and I'm quite impressed at how much detail I was able to recover. I can't tell you how I did it though, I clicked on so many things!

PS you can't see any vines in this photo, but they are there, behind the wall on the left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.