WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Les voeux du maire

The January tradition in France: les voeux du maire.

I had choir practice all day but was released unexpectedly early at 6:30. I thought I'd miss the speeches, but no. It was a good opportunity to catch up with people we hadn't seen since our return, but it made for a long day. Choir was hard work, since a) I had missed some rehearsals while I was away in Spain, and b) although I'd been sent some of the scores, I hadn't looked at them. At all. Sight-reading Ravel's L'Enfant et les Sortilèges : pas facile. Also, having done bises and meilleurs voeux with the entire choir and half the population of the village on the same day, it will be a miracle if I don't catch something :) Now I have to be bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 9:30 tomorrow for some Tchaikovsky. It's a hard life.

I was going to convert this to mono, but I liked the fact that they'd all chosen to wear matching clothes, so I didn't :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.