Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Snowbirds - continued

We have snow. We have birds. I have things to photograph. The star of today’s show is a mischievous Blue Jay sizing up the feeders. I am loving the hi-key look of all the birds against the snow and ice covered backgrounds.

I’m not loving the actual snow and ice so much, however. We are still without power as are many others in the county. Crews from several states are here working on the lines and replacing transformers but heavy ice cover is playing havoc and trees continue to snap from the weight of the ice. As of just now, the electric company predicts having our power restored by midnight. We’ll see. In spite of indoor temps of 50 F we are managing to stay warm, just barely.

The first big event of the day was going into town and having my hair washed, trimmed and dried. Oh my God, it feels so good to have clean hair again!

The second big event of today was seeing the surgeon who took more xrays of my foot and showed us how the bones are just beginning to mend. At least another 4 weeks in the boot and he says I must be very careful now not to re-injure the foot. He looked me in the eye and said “remember your goal - the rain forest in May”. Message received.

We drove around a little and I am stunned by the amount of storm damage. So many trees down including many on our Lane. Two of our neighbors have big limbs on roofs although they appear to have escaped major damage. We lost several additional huge limbs and another tree since yesterday and I suspect that won’t be the last since nothing is melting at these temps.

Am uploading this on my iPad using my iPhone hotspot so hopefully it will work. I am also going to attempt to put a couple of images in Extra...one a sparrow being photobombed by a cardinal and the other a shot of our yard taken from the driveway.

Thank you so much for stopping by and for being patient with my lack of comments at the moment.

Xo
Debbi

And as of 5 PM we have electricity!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.