Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

500 Days

I'm a new soul
I came to this strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit 'bout how to give and take
But since I came here, felt the joy and the fear
Finding myself making every possible mistake


I love these haunting "New Soul" lyrics by French-Israeli singer Yael Naïm. The music that accompanies them is beautiful, too. I first heard the song when it was used in my skydiving video. But in the official music video Yael is seen moving into a new apartment.

So it's a particularly appropriate soundtrack for today: the milestone of 500 days in my new home. This journey which began with hope and joy has been marred by fear and many mistakes.

At times, I feel I've failed my children by uprooting them and immersing them in a foreign school system. Some days are just too difficult. When they come home frustrated and sad, I feel as if I crushed their spirits. Being a teenager is hard enough with out moving across the world.

But there have been happy surprises here, too. Like finding this magnificent historic duplex that for the last 500 days has been our lovely home.

Everyday we learn a little, grow a little, get stronger. And the last lines of the song renew our hope...

This is a happy end
Come and give me your hand
I'll take you far away

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.