Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The boy and the frog

The rain stayed away so I stayed outside and continued to work with the camera today. I will have to return to Venice to see the delights of the museums and art galleries in the future.

I visited the fish market which was a revelation. How do the Venetians manage to eat so much fish I wondered. There were fish I had never heard of in their hundreds if not thousands.

Around the city I found the bridge Calle di Morti, although someone had to take me by the hand to help me discover it! Later I also found the famous Scala Contarini del Bovolo which is the external spiral staircase on a palace. There are two lots of locked metal railings so photography here is challenging!

I was not happy with the images of the Charles Ray "Boy with a Frog" from yesterday so I returned to try again today. It's very tricky to get the exposure right. The same miserable guard was standing 2 feet from the sculpture again today. I wonder what he did to receive this punishment. The sculpture has upset many Venetians who thought it would be temporary and that an 18th century lamp standard would be restored to its rightful place.

Tomorrow I return to snow bound England and hope the flights will be on time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.