jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Hello...?

According to the Bear, it makes things more interesting if you climb into the toybox before attempting to select a toy.

Today has excelled itself :) The best thing about admitting when you are struggling is the sheer volume of extra prayers!! Thanks to all the love and encouragement and prayers during yesterday, I have more than coped with today.

Steve took the boys out after lunch, Bean to school and Bear to sleep, and let me theraputically clean the bathroom floor of plaster and have a shower all by myself. And he came home with coffee (we'd run out), and let me have time to make paper hearts. So so grateful.

And I cooked dinner this evening.

Actually cooked!! I haven't cooked a regular dinner in months. Proper dinner, leftover chicken, veg, mashed potatoes, gravy from our homemade stock. It may not seem that big a thing but I couldn't have done that yesterday. I didn't think I could do it today either until I'd chopped all the veg and Steve was still battling with the bathroom ceiling and I just carried on and cooked it.

Yes it definitely helped that the boys were not killing each other...!

Bean had a good time at preschool, he said he didn't do ANY work today at all ;o) And the Bear actually pottered about by himself while Bean was out, rather than pining!

It has been a good day.

We finished the day clearing up ready for tomorrow and the living room is tidied, the kitchen table is tidied, the nappied are washing, Steve finished the ceiling and put the lights back in the bathroom.

Bear woke up just as we were headed to bed. I was just about to clip the bottoms of the flower stems and put them into water and Bear watched me with growing excitement - he thought they were green beans. He likes green beans. When I put them in the compost pile without thinking his face went through a range of emotions: disbelief, realisation, surprise, crushing disappointment... :o( Poor old Bear, he didn't half cry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.