The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Afternoon colours

I missed the second half of the England vs Scotland match to go and see this. I think it was worth it. The estuary was still full of water, and the sun had just dipped when I arrived.

As the colours started to fade, I got talking to a lady who has been staying in Arnside with her mother for the last couple of weeks. She is a Manchester girl exiled in Colchester, plotting to move back north. She waxed lyrically about the quiet beauty of the village and the estuary, the quality of the light and the dynamism of the tides and channels. She could write the text for a Cumbria Tourist Board Visit Arnside leaflet. And maybe I could supply a few photographs.

As for the rugby, my English genes were happy, my Welsh ones much less so, and as I am more Welsh than English it was on balance a disappointing start to the 6 Nations. But otherwise a beautiful bright winter's day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.