Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Voracious

My fascination with dragonflies actually all started about 7 years ago when I observed a big Darner devouring a very big bumble bee.  Until that time, I really hadn't given them much thought and whatever fleeting thoughts were probably along the lines of "eeek, what the hell is that thing?"

Fast forward ... I now actively seek them out, even stalking them at times (as one does).  Today's specimen is a female Eastern Pondhawk (the males are blue) and she is dining on a cluster fly of some sort.  I happened to come upon her just as she snatched her prey off a leaf and proceeded to eat it's head.  Instantly, I was crouched and snapping shots.  This was my favorite because you can still sort of tell her prey is a fly.  Pondhawks are voracious hunters and will sometimes even prey on their own species.

In addition to this fun find, I had the most amazing experience with an Orchard Oriole.  As I was walking along the path, I saw what I though was a frog hopping in the tall grass next to the trail.  On closer inspection, I realized it was a baby bird!  So, quick as a flash, I used both hands to scoop it up.  I could hear other baby birds in a big clump of bushes, so I set the wee one on a branch where it quickly scurried back into the thicket.  I walked a short distance along and then waited to see if a parent would discover it.  Sure enough, both parents came - two gorgeous Orchard Orioles, the first I've seen this year.  I then spotted the nest which was right alongside the trail.  When these birds nested, the parks and trails were all closed, so of course they didn't know humans would be coming along.  Anyway, I was able to get a bit closer and snap a shot of one of their other fledglings who was begging loudly.  It's not a great shot but I'll put it in Extra.  I've never seen a baby Orchard Oriole before, much less held one in my hands.  It was magical and it just filled my heart up.

Hubs and I had an early dinner on our deck and we were entertained by bluebirds, cardinals, robins and sparrows all using the bird bath on the patio, flinging water everywhere.  When the female bluebird went into the water, the male perched several feet away and guarded her, watching for danger - it was such a sweet thing to observe.

Tomorrow is supposed to be overcast for at least part of the day which I am looking forward to.  I am hoping for baby woodpecker and/or titmouse photos, both of which will be MUCH easier without bright harsh sun.  

I am not checking the bluebird box anymore as it is too risky at this stage (they might jump out and aren't able to fly quite yet).  I did, however, check both wren boxes and all seems well.  The first brood of wrens are all feathered and I think they could fledge as early as Sunday.  Always hard to tell with wrens as they can fledge anywhere between 12 and 18 days.  Food is plentiful now, though, so I'm thinking they'll fledge earlier than later.  And Sunday is probably the day for the bluebirds if my math is right.  They are predictable at 18 days.

Stay safe, be kind, be loving.

xo

New Jersey Covid 19 Stats
Total cumulative positives - 167, 703
Total deaths - 12,769
Current Rate of Transmission (R0) under 0.8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.