The second half of life..

By twigs

French Pass

With a 5-day long weekend I figured there was no need to rush around on Friday to get away. Instead I did most of the packing last night then enjoyed a cruisey morning taking in a slow breakfast in the sun, a little shopping and a few minor domestics. The final few things were packed late morning then I headed off towards the Marlborough Sounds.

The Sounds are a pretty special area and I'm almost embarrassed to admit that I haven't visited them in years. It seems ridiculous as it's only about an hour and a bit away from Nelson to get to the more accessible bays. But it's not the more accessible places I seem drawn to - it's the back-of-beyond spots that few people would - I thought - venture to.

So I spent the afternoon meandering my way along to one of the farthest reaches of the Sounds - French Pass. I was happy to leave getting a site at the French Pass DoC campground to chance. The first settlement of note I travelled through was Okiwi Bay where I saw plenty of Kiwis doing what Kiwis do on long (summer) weekends - swimming, boating, sunning, walking, talking, eating, playing, biscuiting, fishing . . . . it looked wonderfully relaxed although too many people for my liking.

The road to French Pass is about 40kms, 20 of which are sealed and 20 of which are unsealed. The scenery changes from native bush clad hillsides to some logged pine plantations, back to a little bush then finally to open steep hillsides and grazing sheep. Once the grazing land becomes the norm the views become stunning - steep hillsides falling away into the most amazing blue waters and views across to the native bush covered D'Urville Island.

All was looking wonderful until I finally arrived at French Pass settlement and found the campground absolutely chokka - people, tents, boats, kayaks, big 4WDs (including a colleague from work!!!) So much for my 'head to somewhere where few others would have gone'. How wrong I was!

I've ended up doing something I know I shouldn't have - parking along the waterfront - then just hoping I don't get woken and told to move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.