The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A quick peep

I had to sprint in wellies up the steepest part of the Knott to take this photograph. Sprint is probably putting it a bit too strongly, but I did pant my way up as fast as I could, Gus running effortlessly ahead of me enjoying the game. I had a feeling that as the post-dawn sun climbed into a gap in the clouds, it might be its last appearance. I didn't want to miss it. As it happened, there were occasional glimpses later as the heavy clouds peeled back between the pelting showers of rain and hail.

I stayed home to work today, the lads keeping me company. Phil the plumber came and fixed our leaking radiators, and we deliberated as to why the central heating system has taken to turning itself on independently of the programmed control. No, the machines haven't decided to take over at last. There is some mechanism that prompts the boiler to start cycling in very cold conditions - it perhaps shows that we are economising a bit too much on heating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.