Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Lessons from Brida

"But how will I know who my Soulmate is?" Brida felt that this was one of the most important questions she had ever asked in her life.
"By taking risks" she said to Brida. "By risking failure, disappointment, disillusion, but never ceasing in you search for Love. As long as you keep looking, you will triumph in the end."

~ Paulo Coelho, Brida

Exactly two years ago today I was at a family wedding in Maryland.

My cousin's oldest daughter, whom I held as an infant, who was a flower girl in my own wedding, and whom years later became a Godmother to my youngest son, was the beautiful bride (and my son was the ring bearer).

I can't believe that was only two years ago. It seems like a lifetime; a world away. At the time of the nuptials we had no idea that six months later we'd be moving to Europe. But here we are. And I do so miss my extended family back home.

But I'm very happy for the young couple, who are now expecting their own first child. And I'm also thrilled for the soon-to-be grandmother, my cousin, who today celebrates 30 years of marriage (yes, mother and daughter share their wedding date, how cool is that?). Congratulations to both sets of soulmates: Megan & Chad and Patty & Keith!

So it seems a toast is in order. Let me choose a nice red wine for the occasion ;)
No, I did not consume all these tonight! But through the course of my adventures in Germany, I have enjoyed sampling many new and different wines.

As the brilliant Brazilian author Paulo Coelho so wisely instructs us:

"Accept what life offers you and try to drink from every cup. All wines should be tasted; some should only be sipped, but with others, drink the whole bottle."
~ Paulo Coelho, Brida

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.