The second half of life..

By twigs

Black Hole

I live in an old house - very old by New Zealand standards. It was built around 1875 and over the years I've lived here I've made some modifications and some improvements, but always with the aim of trying to maitain the character of the place. One such modification/improvement was the fireplace - I had a cast iron 'open' box burner put in to increase the efficiency of the old fireplace. It worked and it looked great. I loved it.

The council's 'clean air' plan has meant that I can no longer light it however and today it was removed leaving just a black hole :(

I can replace it with a council approved clean burning closed box burner but have struggled to find one which will actually fit without having to make too many modifications to the beautiful mantle, surround or hearth.

I've now got until the cold weather sets in to find a suitable one and have it fitted. With the snow that appeared on the hills earlier this week it may turn out to be needed sooner rather than later.

In the meantime I get to live with a black hole!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.