Classic Abingdon

I'm now officially on half term holiday until Monday Feb 18th :)

Today I was determined to blip in the sunshine. The BBC hour by hour forecast for Abingdon said sunshine 8am - 11am (to be followed by cloud and, eventually, rain) so I made a special effort and actually got out of the house at 10.15.

I'm still experimenting with my new telephoto lens. I never tire of this classic view taken from Abingdon bridge looking downstream towards Wallingford. If you look in large you will see that the Thames Path (left) is at long last almost puddle free so, after leaving the bridge, I wandered on down as far as the Old Anchor Inn. Until today I've never ever seen this pub, built in 1819, without cars parked in front. However, a hole has appeared in St Helen's Wharf and most of the road is cordoned off so it was nice to have a relatively clear view.

On my way back I spied some snowdrops very close to the Thames Path. The first ones I've seen this year!

Half an hour later when I returned to the bridge I took another shot from the bridge, facing the other way (upstream). This gave me a different view of the work at Abingdon Lock along with more grounded boats. There's a more detailed blip of the work going on inside the lock here.

By the time I got home it was 1.30pm, the sun had disappeared, and it was very very cold. More snow is forecast...
I sincerely hope this does not mean that more floods will follow :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.