Maggie @ Abingdon

By MaggieJH

There's something happening in St Mary's today

At last we have sun! So, I emerged from my shell and popped into Oxford this afternoon for a spot of half term shopping.

There was a Valentine's feel to the city and everyone seemed to have a spring in their step. I wandered in to the beautiful University Church of St Mary the Virgin as I have not been in there since it reopened late last year after a lengthy and extensive restoration project. Tourists (and me!) were agape. There was a marvellous medieval play or enactment taking place. I have no idea what it was and all the actors were too busy to ask.

I'm wondering if it is something do with either a) Lent or b) St Valentine. There are a few more pictures here (none is very good). If anyone has any idea what they are depicting do tell.

For a small fee you can climb St Mary's tower and get marvellous views of Oxford -something I have never done. However, I spent so long watching these marvellous actors that it began to get dark so will save that idea for another day and another blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.