WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

An evening by the fire

I could not post another blip of vines. Even if no-one else is bored with them, I am :) So I decided on an indoor blip, and this was the best I could do. I love our woodburner, it's so cosy! We don't need any other heating.

A neighbour died suddenly on Tuesday morning, and it was her funeral today. As always, there was a big turnout, maybe 200 people -- no-one in this village ever goes to their grave alone. Between the death and the funeral, the glas (mourning bell) sounds twice a day. Most people here are not religious, but they accompany the coffin from the house to the door of the church out of solidarity with the bereaved, and then wait around outside in the square until the service is over before going to the cemetery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.